Facebook users in Poland, Bolivia, Colombia and Lithuania are able to test a new ‘Unsend’ Messenger feature. This has been made available on both iOs and Android applications.
The development of this feature came after users realised that messages sent from Facebook executives were able to be removed, so the public questioned why they could have the desired feature, but we couldn’t.
After months of changing the back-end functionality of the app, it has now been rolled out for testing in selected geographical locations.
With this new feature, users are able to remove and delete messages within 10 minutes of sending, so you are able to correct a mistake.
According to TechCrunch:
“Facebook settled on the ability to let you remove any kind of message – including text, group chats, photos, videos, links, and more – within ten minutes of sending. You can still delete any message on just your side of the conversation, but only messages you sent can be removed from their recipients. You can’t delete from someone else what they sent you.”
When deleting a message, two options will show “Remove for Everyone” or “Remove for you”. We’ve always been able to delete the embarrassing messages from our end, but now if you’re quick enough, you can delete them before anyone reads them!